Drug and Alcohol Policies
A student may be dismissed from MBI for the unlawful possession, use or distribution of illicit drugs, alcohol or firearms on school property or as part of any school activities; or attending class under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Resources for Drug and Alcohol Abuse Treatment
As community and governmental concern has increased, resources for and knowledge about treatment of drug abuse have become widely available. Many communities now have resources for drug treatment that were not in existence several years ago. Large cities are likely to have a large number or resources available. Generally, those resources for treatment and aid that are part of the patient’s home community are most useful. This is due to ease of access and the likelihood of continuing with the aftercare that is so important in drug abuse treatment. Various types of resources are available.
All Tennessee massage therapy students as well as all licensed massage therapists are eligible to use the impaired professionals program provided by TnPAp. This service is provided free of charged due to a grant from the Tennessee massage licensure board.
- TnPap (Tennessee Professional Assistance Program)
- 545 Mainstream Drive Suite 414
- Nashville, TN 37228-1219
- 615-726-4001 www.TNPAP.org
Federal Student Financial Aid Penalties for Drug Law Violations
SUSPENSION OF ELIGIBILITY FOR DRUG-RELATED OFFENSES.—
(1) IN GENERAL.—A student who has been convicted of any offense under any
Federal or State law involving the possession or sale of a controlled substance shall
not be eligible to receive any grant, loan, or work assistance under this title during the
period beginning on the date of such conviction and ending after the interval specified
in the following table:
If convicted of an offense involving:
The possession of a controlled substance: Ineligibility period is:
First offense ................................... 1 year
Second offense ............................... 2 years
Third offense .................................. Indefinite.
The sale of a controlled substance: Ineligibility period is:
First offense ................................... 2 years
Second offense ............................... Indefinite.
(2) REHABILITATION.—A student whose eligibility has been suspended
under paragraph (1) may resume eligibility before the end of the ineligibility
period determined under such paragraph if—
(A) the student satisfactorily completes a drug rehabilitation
(i) complies with such criteria as the Secretary shall prescribe in
regulations for purposes of this paragraph; and
(ii) includes two unannounced drug tests;
(B) the student successfully passes two unannounced drug tests conducted
by a drug rehabilitation program that complies with such criteria as the
Secretary shall prescribe in regulations for purposes of subparagraph (A)(i); or
(C) the conviction is reversed, set aside, or otherwise rendered nugatory.
Health Risks of Drug and/or Alcohol Abuse
The use of alcohol can lead to serious health risks:
- loss of muscle control, poor coordination, slurred speech;
- fatigue, nausea, headache;
- increased likelihood of accidents;
- impaired judgment;
- possible respiratory paralysis and death.
Heavy drinking can lead to:
- damage to brain cells;
- increased risk of cirrhosis, ulcers, heart disease, heart attack, and cancers of liver, mouth, throat, and stomach;
- personality disorders.
Health risks associated with the abuse of drugs include:
- increased susceptibility to disease due to a less efficient immune system;
- increased likelihood of accidents;
- personality disorders;
- death by overdose;
- poor concentration.
State and Federal Sanctions for Drug and Alcohol Abuse
Based on Tennessee statute TCA 63-18-108, it would be grounds for revocation of a massage license if a person is addicted to the habitual use of intoxicating liquors, drugs, or stimulants to such an extent as to incapacitate such person’s performance of professional duties, or has been convicted of a felony.
Under state law, it is unlawful for any person under the age of twenty-one (21) to buy, possess, transport (unless in the course of their employment and over the age of 18), or consume alcoholic beverages, including wine or beer. It is also unlawful for any adult to buy alcoholic beverages for or furnish them for any purpose to anyone under twenty-one years of age.
Under Tennessee law, the offense of possession or casual exchange of a controlled substance (such as marijuana) is punishable as a Class A Misdemeanor (eleven months twenty-nine days and/or a fine of $2,500). For the third and subsequent offense of possession of 1/2 oz. or less of marijuana, punishment is one to six years of imprisonment and a $3,000 fine. If there is an exchange from a person over twenty-one years of age to a person under twenty-one, and the older person is at least two years older than the younger, and the older person knows that the younger is under twenty-one years of age, then the offense is classified as a felony.
State penalties for possession of substantial quantities of a controlled substance or for manufacturing or distribution range up to a maximum of fifteen to sixty years of imprisonment and a $500,000 fine.
Under Federal law: First conviction: Up to one year imprisonment and fine of at least $1,000.
After one prior drug conviction: At least fifteen days in prison, not to exceed two years, and fine of at least $2,500.
After two or more prior drug convictions: At least ninety days in prison, not to exceed three years, and fine of at least $5,000.